A Tale of Three Trees and A Plum Recipe

22 Sep

People think I am crazy because I get so excited about having a yard.  But you have to understand.  I have lived in apartments and basement suits my whole life.  I have never had a yard all to myself before.  We had an awesome back yard area in our last place… lots of space with a little creek and everything.  But we had to share it with all the other people.  You couldn’t spend any time out there unless you were okay with random people looking at you from their balconies.  I’m not a fan of that!  Of course, this yard is still very exposed to people … as it is right next to 2 streets and there is a condo building across the street… but it’s just different… I can’t tell you why because I don’t know… but it just is.  So here’s my first (of many, I am sure) story of our yard:

Our new yard … our lovely large yard with spotty grass/dirt/weed patches has three trees.  One giant shade tree that has practically grown over the entire top of the house.  I am confident that by next summer it will touch down on the other side of the house!

There is a sad, dying, lonely mystery fruit tree in the corner.  It is too big for it’s own good… can’t keep itself healthy enough to grow whatever fruit it is supposed to grow.  It makes me sad to look at.  Adrian says we will probably have to cut it down.  But I still have hope… maybe with just a little trim of the sad, overly large branches and a little fertilizer it will be as good as new ..but that’s a project for next spring!

The third tree is a plum tree.

That is the front of our house, photo bombing this picture!

It produces damson plums …which I hear are good for making into prunes.  I am not a fan of prunes, although I hear they are good for you! BUT! I am a fan of these plums in plum form.

Street view!

It didn’t take long for them to ripen up and taste delicious on their own, a lovely little surprise of sweet green flesh behind a dusty purple exterior … However, I wanted to do something with them.  I mean, I didn’t plant the tree so if the fruit dies off, I’m not out anything.  But it would still bother me to let all this fruit go to waste and not do anything about it.  So I picked all the lowest stuff because that’s all I could reach, I tried shaking the tree, like a bear, to get the taller stuff down, but I am sadly the weakest bear ever!  I managed to gather about 2 lbs of these tiny sour-sweet fruits.  I cut up half of what I gathered and put them in the freezer for a later date.  With the other half I made plum cobbler.

I decided on this particular dish based on a trend.  The boxed cake mix and can of pop trend.  I have seen it a couple times, and I tried it once.. the cake turned out gummy and sticky… (Better for cupcakes or cobblers!) but had the hankering to try a cobbler when I read this.  I knew that she was just missing one thing.  Butter.  Butter makes everything better… especially dry cake mix on top of cobbler!

Plum Cobbler:

4 Cups plums – cut up

1 box white cake mix

1 1/2 cups (or 1 can) Ginger Ale

2-3 handfuls mixed dried small fruit – I used raisins and craisins

1/2 cup butter

1 baking dish – I used an old rectangular one

- Preheat oven to 350F (Or whatever temperature the box of cake tells you)

- spread out plums on bottom of dish and add mixed fruits

Artsy photo of plums! (Badly composed, yes)

- sprinkle dry cake mix until everything is nice and white – like fresh snow on Christmas morning!

- pour Ginger Ale over entire surface – don’t mix anything!

Going to be sooooo tasty!

- put into oven for 15-20 minutes

- around the 20 minute mark cut the butter into small clumps and generously sprinkle over the top of the dish – use as much or little butter as you wish!

- bake for another 10-ish minutes – until the top is a golden brown and your tummy starts to rumble from the good smells wafting up your nose!

OM NOM NOM

(Please don’t judge me based on my dirty cookie sheet!! I only use it when I use baking dishes or make frozen lasagna! … makes it easier to get in and out of the oven!)

There was still a little dry cake mix in random spots, but once you serve it up and add a few dollops of vanilla ice cream, it wasn’t even noticeable!

Enjoy!

<3 Sara-Jane

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “A Tale of Three Trees and A Plum Recipe”

  1. Stacey September 23, 2012 at 11:15 pm #

    I have a dirty cookie sheet like that too! No matter how hard I scrub the stupid thing won’t come clean. I don’t care, it’s just for overflow and putting stuff in and out like you said :) the cobbler looks SO yummy!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

